Saturday, September 19, 2020
Home Temple Events Abhimana Stalams Pavitrotsavam at Sri Ahobila Mutt, Chembur

Pavitrotsavam at Sri Ahobila Mutt, Chembur

The annual feature of Pavitrotsavam at Sri. Ahobila Mutt, Chembur commenced on November 5, 2011 with Mrithsangrahanam Angurarpanam, Raksha Bandhanam, Thirumanjanam and Adhivaasa Homam. This Pavitrotsavam ends on November 10, 2011 with Maha poornahudhi, Pavithram kaladhal, Satrumurai, Thirumanjanam and Kumba Prokshanam.

Every day during the utsavam, routine homam will be held in the morning and evening amid Veda and Divya Prabhandh parayanam. The procession of Sri Prahaladha Varadhan with His consorts also arranged on  November 6 (Sunday) at 5pm.

Please contact the Mutt Office on 022-25287183 and 022-25280249 for ubhayam and other information.

About the temple

In 1951, the 42nd Jeeyar(the Head of the Ahobila Mutt),arranged for the purchase of two plots in Chembur with an area of 1414 square yards and in May 1952, an additional plot measuring 652 square yards. In 1968, the Temple cum Kalyana Mandapam (Marriage Hall) came up in an incredibly short time and enabled His Holiness Srivan Satakopa Sri Vedanta Desika Yatindra Mahadesika,(the 44th Jeeyar of Sri Ahobila Mutt), to have it’s consecration (Samprokshanam) on 25th August, 1968.

The Temple cum Hall Complex consists of a temple with 3 stone archa-vigrahas (Moola Murthies) of Lord Sri Lakshmi Nrisimha, the presiding deity of the Mutt, in the centre, with Lord Sri Lakshmi Narayana on His left and Lord Sri Lakshmi Hayagriva, the Lord of Wisdom, on His right. This is one of the few Temples in India to have three Moola Murthies in one Sanctum Sanctorum (Sannidhi). In the Praharam, there are  archa-vigraha of Srinivasa (Balaji), Jwala Nrisimha, Guruvayurappan (Lord Krishna) and Suryanarayana. Outside the temple, are archa-vigrahas of Garuda and Hanuman. The temple is adorned with a small Gopuram and Vimanam called VIJAYADWAJA VIMANAM.

The Sannidhi also has exquisite Utsava Murthies (archa-vigrahas which are to be taken out in procession) of Lord Sri Prahalada Varada with his consorts SriDevi and BhooDevi, Andal, Sri Sudarsana, Sri Ramanuja, Sri Vedanta Desika, Sri Adivan Satakopan, Nammalvar and silver archa-vigrahas of Sri Jwala Nrisimha and Selvan.



Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Sri Villur Nadadoor Shastra-sahiti-vallabha Rashtrapathi Sammanitha Karunakarachariar SwAmi’s 74th Thirunakshatram

Sri Villur Nadadoor Shastra-sahiti-vallabha  Rashtrapathi Sammanitha Karunakarachariar SwAmi’s 74th Thirunakshatram is on 4th September 2020.   The Celebrations...

Hazira Sri Balaji Temple Sarvari Varusha Oonjal Utsavam

Oonjal Utsavam is being celebrated grandly  at Sri Balaji Temple in Hazira in Gujarat. This utsavam is celebrated every year for...

Thirukkudanthai Sri Aravamudan Saarvari Varusha Pavitrotsavam

On July 17, 2020 (Saarvari Aadi Karthigai;Dwadasi), Pavithrotsavam took place at Sri Aravamudan Perumal Temple at Thirukkudanthai (Kumbakonam). On the occasion, yagasalai...

Therazhundur Sri Sengamalavalli Thayar Saarvari Aadi Velli Alankaram

On July 17, 2020 (Saarvari Aadi Rohini), Sri Sengamalavalli Thayar at Therazhundur Sri Amaruviappan Divya Desam had beautiful alankaram with various thiruvaabharanams...

Recent Comments

Print Friendly, PDF & Email