Ekadasi Purappadu At Thirukkudanthai Sri Aravamudhan Sannidhi



On October 30, 2013; Vijaya Varusha Aippasi Pooram, purappadu for Sri Sarangapani Perumal took place at Sri Aravamudhan Sannadhi, Thirukkudanthai (Kumbakonam), on the occasion of Ekadasi.

The following are some of the photographs taken yesterday…


Sarangapani_Ekadasi_02 Sarangapani_Ekadasi_04 Sarangapani_Ekadasi_05 Sarangapani_Ekadasi_06 Sarangapani_Ekadasi_07 Sarangapani_Ekadasi_08 Sarangapani_Ekadasi_09Sarangapani_Ekadasi_00

Photo Courtesy: Sri Soundarrajan Battar

About the Temple:

About the Temple & Location:
This temple lies in the Tanjore district of Tamil Nadu. It’s about 1 1/2 miles away from Kumbakkonam railway station. Which is on the Chennai-Thanjore main line. Bus facility and staying facilities are ample.

Sthala Puranam:

When it was time for the destruction of this world a huge pralaya came up. In order to save the vedha’s Amirtham and tools necessary to create lives on earth, lord Brahma collected all these things and put them in a mud pot and kept the pot safety on the top of the Mountain Meru. Pralaya kalam (ie) the period of non stop heavy rain came and the pot of Brahma was washed away by the flood. In due course moving in the south direction it came to halt at a particular place. Then for the wish of all Devar’s (ie) heavenly people Lord Shiva broke the pot with an arrow. Immediately Amudham (ie) the liquid giving eternity flowed from the pot and formed two tanks. One is known as Maha maga kulam and the othr Potramarai kulam. The remains of the pot and Amudham joined together to form “Lord Kumbeswarar”. In the name of the broken pot (ie) Kumbam that place was clled Kumbakkonam or simply Kudanthai.

Lord Narayana’s Marriage: 
Once there was a dispute between the rishis as to whom to submit the “Avirbagam” (ie) to whom they should give more importance among the trinity “Sivan, Bhrama and Vishnu”. As they couldn’t resolve the matter they sent “Brighu Maharishi” to test the Trinities and finally to select the best member. So, Brighu Maharishi went to Siva logam (ie) the place of Shiva and Brahmalogam (ie) place of Bhrama and was dishonoured by them. So angrily he went at last to Vishuloga (ie) the the place of Maha Vishnu. There too he wasn’t honoured properly. So he got very angry and kicked Maha Vishnu’s heart where Godess Mahalakshmi lives. But in turn Mahavishnu took the feet which kicked him and said “Oh! rishi you have kicked me, but I do not bother about that but your feet may ache due to this so let me soothe it.” Saying so he tactfully took away the third eye of Brighu Maharishi which was concealed under his toe.

Due to this Brighu Maharishi regained his temper and also lost his eye of Pride. As soon as he lost his pride he became very humble and pleaded Mahavishnu to forgive him. From this the Lord God has showed us that unless we lose our pride and become humble. What ever position we may hold, that would never fetch God towards us. Meanwhile, as Bhrigu Maharishi gave a kick where she lived, Mahalakshmi gave a kick where she lived, Mahalakshmi got annoyed and left the scene. She came to the earth and started to live at Kollapuram. Without Mahalakshmi the Godess of Money Lord Narayana was worried a lot and came to earth in search of his beloved wife. But as he couldn’t find he, he transformed himself into Lord Srinivasa and married Godess Padmavathi. As Mahalakshmi left him he was not having enough money for marriage so he borrowed some money from Lord Khubera. Once again he was left alone for Padmavathidevi had a dispute with Lord Srinivasa and left Tirupati. By now, Mahalakshmi who was staying at Kollapuri came to know the news of Lord Srinivasa’s marriage from Naradha. She became very angry and started to search Lord Srinivasa who had fled to Abyss (ie) paathala loga in Kumbakkonam, to escape from Mahalakshmi’s angry.

Goddess Mahalakshmi searched Lord Srinivasa every where but her effort gave her no fruits. So she became a small child and crawled as BalaKomalavalli in the Potramarai Kulam. Brighu Maharishi who kicked Mahalakshmi felt very much for his action and hence took rebirth as Hema Maharishi. He saw Balukomalavalli and started to bring her up as his own daughter. When it was time for Komalavalli’s marriage, Hema Maharishi performed a very hard penance and pleaded Mahavishnu to accept Mahalakshmi. Lord Mahavishnu granted his wish. On a Mahashankaranthi day Lord Mahavishnu emerged out from Vaideha Vimanam contained in the pranava vimana of Sri Rangam and came in a huge chariot and married Komalavalli Thaayar. As the Thayaar Komalavalli was angry with Lord Srinivasa who has a standing posture to soothe her anger Lord Mahavishnu now adapted the sleeping posture of Ranganatha of Sri Rangam and became SaarngapaaNi in Kumbakonam.

Actually Shargam is the name of the bow of Sri Rama, one of the ten Avathar’s of Sri Mahavishnu. Sri Rama is very famous for his one man – one wife format of life. So on order to give assurence of Security for his wife Komalavalli Lord Mahavishnu has adapted the shargam in the name of Sri Ramam and the posture of Ranganatha so as to be called as “SaarngapaaNi”. There is a “Paadhala Srinivasar” in this temple which remainds as the above tale. Goddess Mahalakshmi repented for her mistake and from then onwards she took a vow that she would never leave her dear husband. Hence even today she never leaves out of her chamber. So only she is called as “Padhi Thanda Patni”. This place is treated equivalent with Tirupati, SriRangam, Kaattu Mannar Kovil, Alwar Thirunagari, Thruvellarai, Thiruvekka, Thiru Kandiyur, ThiruKarambanoor, Thiruputkuzhi and Thirupullamboothamkudi. This place is treated as the place which explains the meaning of Paramathma Thathuvam.

The Moolavar of this temple is Sri SaarngapaaNi. Aara Amudhan, Abayaryaapthamiruthan and Utthanasayi are the other names of Moolavar. Prathyaksham for Hema Maharishi. Moolavar is in Udhyoga sayana posture (ie) he appears as though is getting up from sleeping position.

Komalavalli. Also called as “Padi Thanda Pathini” ie thayaar would never (leave out) or leave away from her chamber. She has her own seperate sannadhi in this temple.

•    Sri Aandal – 1 Paasuram.
•    Periyalwar – 3 Paasurams.
•    Thirumizhisai Alwar – 7 Paasurams.
•    Boothatalwar – 2 Paasurams.
•    Peiyalwar – 2 Paasurams.
•    Nammalwar – 11 Paasurams.
•    Thirumangai – 25 Paasurams.
Total – 51 Paasurams.

1.       Hema Pushkarani (Potramarai Kulam).
2.       Cauvery Nadhi.
3.       Arasalaaru.

 Vaidega Vimaanam.

For sthalapuraanam in Tamil, please Click Here

About the Temple Write-up Courtesy: Sri Prabhu

Print Friendly, PDF & Email



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here